Spring Bank Primary School


What is the role of the Governing Body?

The governing body have responsibility for raising school standards through their three core strategic functions of:

a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

b. holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

c. overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money well spent.

It works in close and balanced partnership with the Headteacher, who is responsible for day to day management issues. There are 14 governors including the Head teacher, 1 staff governor, two parent governors, a LA governor  and nine co-opted governors.

Download our annual report 2015-2016 from here:

Governance Statement 2015-16

Who are the School Governors?

There are different types of governors listed on the governing body.

The Headteacher always has the choice to be a member of the governing body. Our Parent Governors are elected by parents and carers of pupils registered at school. Our LEA governor is appointed by the Local Education Authority. Our Staff governor is a paid member of staff who has been elected by the staff.

Governors at our School.  


 Chair of Governors                          Vice Chair of Governors

Janet Matthews                                   Deborah Park                        

Appointed: 27/11/14                            Appointed: 24/9/11                    


038            042



Michael Brawley



Staff Governor

Jo Ward

Appointed: 27/11/14


Parent Governor

Paresh Rathod

Appointed: 27/11/14


Lizzie Simpson

Appointed: 19/5/16


LEA Governor

Al Garthwaite Appointed: 26/11/15


Co-opted Governors (Governors who have been appointed as they have particular skills and expertise to bring to the Governing Body.)

Marcella Manfredonia  Appointed: 27/11/14

Amy Houldsworth Appointed: 27/11/14

Robin Phelan Appointed: 27/11/14

Mike Bird Appointed: 27/11/14

Neal Edwards Appointed: 22/1/15

Rosie Hanley Appointed: 12/3/15 (Currently on Maternity Leave)

Katie Dent Appointed 22/1/15

All of our Governors have signed a declaration of governors interests form summarised below

Name Business Interest Other establishments governed Relationships with staff/members of the Governing Body Date
Janet Matthews None None None 24.9.15
Deborah Park None Thorpe Primary School, Leeds None 24.9.15
Jo Ward None None None 24.9.15
Alison Garthwaite None None None 21.1.15
Paresh Rathod None None None 26.11.15
Robin Phelan None None None 24.9.15
Neal Edwards None None None 24.9.15
Katie Dent None None None 24.9.15
Marcella Manfredonia None None None 24.9.15
Amy Houldsworth None None None 24.9.15
Rosie Hanley N/A N/A N/A N/a
Mike Bird None None None 24.9.15
Michael Brawley None None None 24.9.15
Lizzie Simpson  None  None  None  19.5.16

The full governing body meets five times a year.  There are three main committees;

Teaching and Learning – Deborah Park( Chair) Jo Ward, Janet Matthews, Amy Houldsworth, Mike Bird, Rosie Hanley, Michael Brawley, Lizzie Simpson

Resources Committee – Robin Phelan ( Chair ), Jo Ward, Janet Matthews, Neal Edwards, Michael Brawley

Pupil Support Committee – Paresh Rathod (chair), Marcella Manfredonia, Katie Dent, Michael Brawley, Al Garthwaite

Headteacher’s Performance Management/Pay Committee – Janet Matthews, Robin Phelan, Al Garthwaite

Pay Appeal Committee – Paresh Rathod,Katie Dent, Neal Edwards

Please click on the link below to check our governor’s attendance at meetings.

Attendance at Meetings

Some of our governors have special responsibilities.

Child protection/ LAC  governor: Deborah Park

SEN governor: Paresh Rathod

Training and Link governor: Katie Dent

Extended Services/Attendance: Marcella Manfredonia

Complaints Governor: Janet Matthews

Health and Safety Governor: Robin Phelan

Pupil Premium Governor: Neal Edwards

EYFS Governor: Amy Houldsworth

Sports Premium Governor: Lizzie Simpson

Equalities Governor: Jo Ward

Governor to accompany school advisor on visits: Mike Bird

We have a rolling program of reviewing all the school policies. Some policies are available on this website and all policies can be viewed by contacting the Headteacher, Mr Brawley at the school or via  email at  m.brawley@springbankprimary.org


Each class has a nominated governor ‘buddy’ who might join them on school trips and/or attend class assemblies.

Reception – Al Garthwaite

Year 1 –   Katie Dent

Year 2 –   Mike Bird

Year 3 –  Robin Phelan

Year 4 –   Lizzie Simpson

Year 5 –  Paresh Rathod

Year 6 –   Janet Matthews


How can I become a School Governor?

If you  think you have what it takes to be a school governor there are a number of ways of finding schools that have vacancies:

  • You can contact the school to ask if they need a new governor
  • You can contact SGOSS – Governors for Schools, which recruits Governors nationally
  • You can contact Leeds City Council.

If you wish to contact the governors, you can speak to them directly or leave a message for any of them at the school office on

0113 204 3120.

Future Meetings of the full Governing Body are Thursday 22nd September, 2016 Thursday 24th November 2016,